Trying to debunk the strangeness of dreams through precognition.

My wife tells me that there is nothing crazy, strange, or weird about the many dreams I reveal to her. So after many apparently normal dreams that I thought were odd, I told her about one I had the night before last in an attempt to show her that some of my dreams I do consider normal.

I heard a cat crying outside of my window. When I looked out I could see its silhouette as it stood up like a prairie dog on hind legs. The cat jumped onto my windowsill, and pawed at the screen trying to open it to get in. Suddenly the cat walked through the window and was sitting on the inside. I picked it up and noticed it was smaller than my own cat. I brought the cat into the house and showed it to Mackinac and neither cat reacted. Then the cat was gone and the dream moved on to some other non-sequential event involving an FAA panel.

“That’s not weird.” She assured me.
“I know. That’s the point.” I replied “I only tell you about the good ones. I’ll have two or three meaningless ones a night like this one.”

On lunch, long after I had forgotten about the dream my wife told me that there was a stray cat wearing a bell and looking well kept at the back door. She gave it food and water and tried to keep it in the laundry room. The cat started getting a little antsy, as it was probably just a neighbors outdoor cat that had grown accustomed to panhandling for free food. Once my wife took it in though I imagine it realized the severity of its new incarceration. Shortly afterward she let it go. Later that afternoon the cat came back, it had jumped up on the sill where my wife let it in. “Shut up!” I exclaimed as she told me this. “I didn’t put it down!” She replied defensively thinking that I was upset for letting some flea ridden stray into the house where our cat would likely have killed it. “No the dream.” I told her. What are the chances of going out of my way to tell my wife about a mundane dream I had in order to show that I don’t consider all of my dreams strange, only for it to in some way come true?

Leave a Reply

